Tags

, ,

Do you ever play that game? The game of the if-onlys?

If only I were richer…
… then I could be more generous.

If only my job were more flexible…
… then I could give more time to good causes.

If only life were less stressful right now…
… then I could choose the important over the urgent.

If only I were more powerful…
… then I could speak up for what’s right.

If only I were married…

If only my marriage were different…

If only I were smarter…

 If only I had…

 If only I hadn’t…

Paralyzed by regrets and grandiose visions of what could be, we who play this game remain stuck and wishing we had been given more to “make a go of it”.

Forgetting that we will be responsible to give an account of how we used the knowledge, the strength, the time we possessed (not that we wished for).

Forgetting that we have been given “everything required for life and godliness” not by our own efforts but by divine power.

Forgetting that our lives to this point – even the failures and missteps (the things we spend so much time shaming ourselves for) – are being woven into a story of grace and redemption.

Forgetting that who we are right now, in this moment of breath entering and leaving our bodies, with each beat of our heart – we are who God desires to be present with.

We are who He desires.

We are His beloved.

If only I lived that reality to its fullest.

