Tags

, ,

I missed it over the weekend, but wanted to share with you that this past Friday, over on Provoking Beauty I was the contributor to Leanne’s series on the well-known Prayer of St. Francis. It’s a great series, taking the prayer (below) line-by-line and having a  guest poster reflect on each line.

I have loved St. Francis’ prayer since I heard a song based on some of its lines. It’s a beautiful reflection on all we are called to be as the body of Christ in the world. I was honored when Leanne asked me to contribute to the series and also slightly jealous I hadn’t thought of the idea! It’s a great collection of reflections. Leanne and her assembled guests have done a fantastic job. I’m posting the whole prayer below and each line is linked to the reflection written on it (as has been done so far). Check the whole collection out here. I’ve contributed the reflection on “Where there is doubt, faith”.

Lord, make us instruments of your peace
Where there is hatred, let us sow love;
where there is injury, pardon;
 where there is discord, union;
where there is doubt, faith;
where there is despair, hope;
where there is darkness, light;
where there is sadness, joy.
Grant that we may not so much seek to be consoled as to console;
to be understood as to understand;
to be loved as to love.
For it is in giving that we receive;
it is in pardoning that we are pardoned;
and it is in dying that we are born to eternal life. Amen.

