Tags

Here’s what I’ve been reading lately… Click the link for the full thought!

On The Danger of a Single Story:

On Self Control: Faced with Distraction, We Need Willpower
Mustering willpower is a struggle for almost everyone — and it’s getting harder. We, as individuals and as a society, lack self-control at precisely the time we need it most.

On (Feminine) Hysteria, Environmental Toxins, and All Sorts of Creepy: The Mystery of 18 Twitching Teenagers in Le Roy
Before the media vans took over Main Street, before the environmental testers came to dig at the soil, before the doctor came to take blood, before strangers started knocking on doors and asking question after question, Katie Krautwurst, a high-school cheerleader from Le Roy, N.Y., woke up from a nap. Instantly, she knew something was wrong. Her chin was jutting forward uncontrollably and her face was contracting into spasms. She was still twitching a few weeks later when her best friend, Thera Sanchez, captain of one of the school’s cheerleading squads, awoke from a nap stuttering and then later started twitching, her arms flailing and head jerking. 

On Leadership for Trekkies: Five Leadership Lessons From James T. Kirk
Captain James T. Kirk is one of the most famous Captains in the history of Starfleet. There’s a good reason for that. He saved the planet Earth several times, stopped the Doomsday Machine, helped negotiate peace with the Klingon Empire, kept the balance of power between the Federation and the Romulan Empire, and even managed to fight Nazis….
Kirk’s success was no fluke, either. His style of command demonstrates a keen understanding of leadership 

On Recent Rush Limbaugh Controversies: Rush Limbaugh and Three Evangelical Blind Spots
It’s hard to believe that any Christian would support a man who leveled such a crass and hateful rant against someone created in the image of God, but over the weekend, I encountered several who did just that…and passionately. Most were part of my own evangelical community.   This baffled and frustrated me, as it did many of you who, via Facebook and Twitter, told me that you’ve encountered similar reactions among your family and friends. 

On the Role of Leader as Empowerer: I Can Do It Myself… But Should I?
 My main task as a leader was not to do ministry. This was a shocking revelation to me. My main task as a leader was to equip others to do ministry. Why? So they may be built up. This changed everything for me. This changed how I built my team, what tasks I kept doing, and what I let go of.

 

