Tags

, , , , ,

Here are the things that caught my eye online recently. Click the link for the full blog…

On How Complimentarian Theology Hurts: “Sheep, Shepherds, Complimentarians
I found myself in church today, frantically wiping away escaping tears.   Trying to breathe deeply, slowly, in an effort to calm my pulse and push back the flood behind my eyes.  
Normally wet eyes in church are a sign of spiritual conviction; of hope welling up or hard truth sinking down.  Today’s emotions were different.

On Facing Death: Why Doctors Die Differently
“It’s not something that we like to talk about, but doctors die, too. What’s unusual about them is not how much treatment they get compared with most Americans, but how little. They know exactly what is going to happen, they know the choices, and they generally have access to any sort of medical care that they could want. But they tend to go serenely and gently.”

On Reversing What We Thought We Knew: Happiness Myth #3: Venting Anger Relieves It
Happiness Myth No. 3: Venting anger relieves it.
Wrong. Contrary to popular notion, aggressive “venting” doesn’t relieve bad feelings, but fuels them. Studies show that blowing up, punching a pillow, yelling, or slamming doors makes you feel worse, not better.

On A Cute Gift Idea I’ve Already Used Twice: Pampering in a Jar

On Being Glad To Be Single: Thoughts on Marriage, Singleness, And Life Itself
I’m 23. I’m single. And I’m living in Nicaragua to be a foster mom to lots of little ones and pour God’s love into the hearts of those I run into. Do I feel lonely at times? Well, occasionally, but the times are very rare indeed. Mainly, I feel incredibly filled.

What caught your eye? What’s happening on your blog?

