Tags

, , ,

Much like last year, the neighborhood dogs have had their puppies and we’ve watched them one-by-one die off via the elements, aggressive male dogs or malnutrition. With every cute fluff ball that died, we’ve listened to the mother dog whimpering and whining over the lifeless body.

I’m tired of hearing death.

For we know that the whole creation has been groaning together in the pains of childbirth until now. And we ourselves… groan inwardly as we wait eagerly for… the redemption of our bodies.

 When I want to do good, I get distracted by evil. And the things I don’t want to do, I find myself doing. It’s death at work in my very own flesh. It’s all that is opposed to life, to love, to God still with a say in how I think and act and respond.

I’m tired of feeling death.

Wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death?
Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord!

 Little beggars run up, vacant eyes and hands to mouth requesting food. “Hungry, sister, hungry,” they tell me. “Roti, sister, roti.” Women with infants wander through traffic and deformed men crawl on hands and knees, weaving their way to knock on car windows and call into open autos. They receive pennies in return. It’s death slowly claiming people as they walk – shriveling them into skin and bones. Hollowing them out before they suck in a final breath.

I’m tired of seeing death.

Behold! I tell you a mystery. We shall not all sleep, but we shall all be changed… For this perishable body must put on the imperishable, and this mortal body must put on immortality… Then shall come to pass the saying that is written: “Death is swallowed up in victory.”

 Church members drop away, tired of the fighting in the living Body of Christ. Confusion about the Prince of Peace turns people away before they’ve truly met him. Distraction crowds out the message of life so recently taken root. The image of God marred nearly beyond recognition. Testimonies destroyed, lives ruined.

I’m tired of sensing death.

Even so, Come Lord Jesus!

