Tags

, , ,

Bloody born,
The dignified God-head,
Wearing flesh.

Sore-footed,
The universe-Creator,
Walking, walking.

Parched lips crack,
The Word, the Ancient
Clarifying mysteries.

Simple folk, God’s audience.
Proud folk, His enemies.

Blind folk see Him.
Deaf folk hear Him.

Learned folk miss Him.
Smart folk murder Him.

How can this be?
The glory of Heaven?
Discussing skin disorders,
Comforting snotty-nosed children?

This is anything but majestic.
Not the holiness I feared.
Not the righteousness I expected.

He takes off Heaven
And bends to wash my feet.

Today marks the beginning of Advent. As I think about why this Christmas season captivates me, I always come back to Philippians 2 – “He made Himself nothing”.

I was listening to an interview with an author who recently wrote a book on humility. From a historical standpoint, he said, humility was never a positive quality. Greeks and Romans despised humility. The word’s roots in Latin are “humiliated”. No one liked to be humbled (humiliated) and certainly no one chose to humble (humiliate) themselves.

But today, we consider humility a good quality to have. While we may not exercise it well ourselves, we like to see it in other people. What changed our perception?

Have this mind among yourselves, which is yours in Christ Jesus, who, though he was in the form of God, did not count equality with God a thing to be grasped, but made himself nothing, taking the form of a servant, being born in the likeness of men. And being found in human form, he humbled himself by becoming obedient to the point of death, even death on a cross.

This season we celebrate a God who taught us humility.

I pause on that sentence.

God – creator of heaven and earth, ruler of the universe – decided to school us in humility by giving us Himself as a living, breathing example.

I pray this Advent I learn from the Word who humbly became flesh and dwelt among us.

