Tags

, , , , , , ,

One of my favorite Christmas memories comes from the Christmas Eve service at my church. My friend Rodney and I played a piano/piano duet of The Hallelujah Chorus from Handel’s Messiah. It was the postlude to the service and I was rather terrified. I was only thirteen or fourteen at the time and it was the hardest piece of music I’d ever played. Rodney and I had rehearsed it for months, but I still had nightmares about an awkward silence as I ruined the end of the service with half a duet that sounded nothing like the magnificent Chorus.

But when Christmas Eve came and we started that postlude, there was no need to worry. I could hear people talking, standing, stretching, laughing behind me like echos from another world. For those three minutes that we played, it felt like it was only Rodney, me and the King of kings and Lord of lords. It was one of the most beautiful times of worship I’ve experienced.

I was thinking about that this morning as I played a rendition of The Hallelujah Chorus from a hymnal I have. Then I found it on YouTube. Beautiful words to remind us that one day we will be able to say,

The kingdom of this world
Is become the kingdom of our Lord,
And of His Christ, and of His Christ;

These aren’t words only for Christmas. They are words that point us to a day – a day that could be fantastically soon – when we will kneel before the Lord of lords, the King of kings on this earth.

No matter how difficult today is. No matter how dark it seems or how evil your enemy. Remember this. We will see His kingdom come.

May you be as awed by starting the day off with that truth and these words and music as I was this morning!

