Tags

Every once in a while I come across something that makes me feel like I’m living in a completely different world. I have begun to enjoy a sense of “this is normal” in my new home… but then again something simply amazes me back into that “other world” sense of culture shock. Here are a few of those moments…

Cool Places to Play


Construction on my street. Rumor is they want to widen our little gully. Unlike in the US, where this would entail bright orange construction tape and warning signs – construction here does little to change our travel routes. We simply duck under large equipment and walk gingerly over half-dried cement and two-plank bridges set up over holes in the middle of the road. In front of my house, these two boys enjoyed seeing what the work crews had dug up. Yes, that trench digger is currently digging while the boys play…

No Water? No Problem!

One of the unfortunate bi-products of the work on our street is that our water gets shut off during the day from about 6:30 or 7am until somewhere between 5 to 7pm. But, hey, the work crews bring in a big tanker of water to mix their concrete and such with… so why leave your dishes dirty when there’s water right outside? My neighbor lady saw no need and came out to wash her dishes while the workmen were on break…

Women’s Socks Are Special

You know it’s getting cold when the flies in your house are fighting you for space in front of the space heater…

Which means it’s time to buy warmer clothes… like socks. I went to buy socks a couple of days ago…
“Womens’ socks?” He asked.
I thought this was an odd question since, one – in my world, there’s not a whole lot of difference between mens’ socks and womens’ and, two – I am clearly a woman. I nodded.
So he gave me these…

… I asked my language helper later if these were normal “womens’ socks” and she said yes, of course. If the big toe wasn’t separate from the other four, how could we wear our flip-flops and other feminine sandals with the socks on?

It’s a good point…

… in this world.

