Tags

, ,

My First Rose

So… I guess it’s a bit cliché to write up a list of things I’m thankful for on American Thanksgiving Day… but oh well! I’m spending this Thanksgiving without turkey, mashed potatoes & gravy or apple pie (and, oh yea, family…), so I think I’m allowed one tradition from “the old country”. Over the past couple of weeks, I’ve been thankful for…

Beauty. Like this beautiful yellow rose I opened up my bedroom door to one morning. It served as an unexpected and much needed reminder that even more than He cares for the flowers of the field, He cares for me.

Friends. It was so fun to be able to spend almost a full week in Delhi with friends. Phones and emails are nice, but not quite the same as sitting on a bed face-to-face or cooking and eating together. And since I’ve been back in Pilgrimville – when I’ve been feeling so lonely a friend or phone call has always just “popped up” to remind me how full of people my life is!

Fresh Excitement. I’m thankful for the chance to help with a group of nine that came from Australia for a three week “exposure trip” to life and work in South Asia. I got to help the ladies shop for appropriate clothes, pass along what little information I’ve learned as we walked through Hindu temples and translate in various situations. I also learned some new Australian English words, including “pawpaw” for papaya and “larrikin” which means kind of cheeky or a scallywag. Most of all, though, I’m thankful for the excitement that nine new faces renewed in me. Their excitement and curiosity about things like Hinduism and Jainism (which I still have yet to research) reminded me to be curious and excited in the same way. Because… after all… how amazing is it that I get to live and serve in a place like South Asia?

What’s on your list of thanksgiving today?

